ICC World Cup 2023: Australia’s Squad, Schedule, and More

Share This Post

Australia is gearing up for the ICC World Cup 2023, and their campaign commences with a much-anticipated clash against India. Renowned for their cricketing prowess, Australia undeniably stands as one of the most formidable contenders in the tournament. Earlier this year, they showcased their dominance by clinching victory against India in a gripping away ODI series.

The ICC World Cup 2023 is poised to witness a fierce showdown among ten formidable teams vying for the ultimate glory in cricket. Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, South Africa, and the Netherlands are all set to engage in an electrifying round-robin format.

Australia’s expedition in the tournament encompasses a total of nine league-stage encounters, promising fans a thrilling rollercoaster of cricketing excitement. They will initiate their World Cup voyage with a face-off against India on October 8, culminating with their final league-stage showdown against Bangladesh on November 11.

In the previous edition of the ODI World Cup, Australia’s journey was marked by their progression to the semi-finals. However, they faced a formidable England side and narrowly missed out on securing a spot in the final. Australia’s history in the World Cup is illustrious, having clinched the coveted trophy a record five times, establishing them as the most successful team in the tournament’s storied history.

Steering Australia’s charge in the ICC World Cup 2023 is the dynamic Pat Cummins, who will lead the team as captain. Cummins, celebrated for his versatile cricketing skills, is poised to play a pivotal role in guiding the team towards triumph.

Australia has already unveiled its preliminary squad for the tournament, featuring a talented ensemble of 18 players. However, the final squad will see the omission of three players. The squad comprises a blend of seasoned campaigners and emerging talents, all fervently prepared to represent their nation on the grand stage of ODI cricket

Australia: Preliminary squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Australia: Schedule for ICC World Cup 2023

Australia’s journey in the ICC World Cup 2023 is marked by a demanding schedule comprising ten league-stage matches, where they will face off against each of the participating teams. Here’s a glimpse of Australia’s fixtures for the tournament:

– October 8: Australia vs. India (5th Match) at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai (2:00 PM IST)
– October 12: Australia vs. South Africa (10th Match) at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow (2:00 PM IST)
– **October 16: Australia vs. Sri Lanka (14th Match) at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow (2:00 PM IST)
– October 20: Australia vs. Pakistan (18th Match) at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (2:00 PM IST)
– October 25: Australia vs. Netherlands (24th Match) at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi (2:00 PM IST)
– October 28: Australia vs. New Zealand (27th Match) at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala (10:30 AM IST)
– November 4: Australia vs. England (36th Match) at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad (2:00 PM IST)
– November 7: Australia vs. Afghanistan (39th Match) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (2:00 PM IST)
– November 12: Australia vs. Bangladesh (43rd Match) at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune (10:30 AM IST)

Latest Posts