ICC ODI World Cup 2023: England’s Squad, Schedule, and More

Share This Post

England is gearing up to defend their ICC World Cup title as they head to India for the highly anticipated ICC World Cup 2023. As the defending champions, England has their sights set on retaining the trophy they clinched in the previous edition, where they triumphed over New Zealand in a nail-biting final.

The ICC World Cup 2023 is scheduled to kick off on October 5, with India playing host to this cricketing extravaganza. This edition will witness a fierce competition among ten formidable teams, including England, India, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, the Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

England’s campaign in the ICC World Cup 2023 is set to be an action-packed journey, featuring a total of nine league stage matches. Each team will face off against the others once before the semi-finals. England’s league stage will culminate with a clash against Pakistan on November 11.

While England has claimed the ODI World Cup title only once before, in the 2019 edition, they have been perennial finalists and consistently ranked among the strongest contenders in the tournament. With an impressive record and a squad brimming with talent, England aims to add another trophy to their collection.

England has already unveiled their preliminary squad for the World Cup, with the dynamic Jos Buttler leading the team. Buttler, who has been a pivotal player for England, will not only captain the side but also play a crucial role in guiding the team’s fortunes.

In a significant development, Ben Stokes has come out of his ODI retirement and will don the England jersey once again for the World Cup campaign. Stokes, known for his remarkable all-round abilities, adds depth and experience to the team.

The England squad also features key players like Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, and Jason Roy, who bring their own unique strengths to the team’s lineup. However, it’s worth noting that emerging talent Harry Brook, despite his impressive performances, did not secure a spot in the preliminary squad.

As the countdown to the ICC World Cup 2023 begins, cricket enthusiasts eagerly await England’s journey in their quest for glory. With a strong squad and a rich cricketing history, England promises to be a formidable force in the tournament.

England’s ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule

England’s path to World Cup glory involves a total of nine league stage matches, where they will compete against each of the other participating teams. Here’s a look at England’s schedule for the ICC World Cup 2023:

– October 5: England vs. New Zealand (1st Match) at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad (2:00 PM IST)
– October 10: England vs. Bangladesh (7th Match) at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala (2:00 PM IST)
– October 15: England vs. Afghanistan (13th Match) at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi (2:00 PM IST)
– October 21: England vs. South Africa (20th Match) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (2:00 PM IST)
– October 26: England vs. Sri Lanka (25th Match) at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (2:00 PM IST)
– October 29: England vs. India (29th Match) at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow (2:00 PM IST)
– November 4: England vs. Australia (36th Match) at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad (2:00 PM IST)
– November 8: England vs. Netherlands (40th Match) at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune (2:00 PM IST)
– November 11: England vs. Pakistan (44th Match) at Eden Gardens, Kolkata (2:00 PM IST)

Latest Posts

3 Teams That Can Buy USA’s Saurabh Netravalkar in IPL 2025

USA fast bowler Saurabh Netravalkar has made a name...

New York Cricket Stadium Dismantled Amidst T20 World Cup: Here’s Why

The New York Cricket Stadium known as Nassau County...

Vitality Blast 2024: Leicestershire trumps Durham in a thriller

Leicestershire prevailed over Durham in the 40th match of...

World Cup 2024: 5 Cricketers Who Might Be Playing Their Last Edition

Every cricketer’s dream is to win the coveted ICC...