Top records held by Delhi capitals in IPL history

Share This Post

In their 14-year Indian Premier League (IPL) journey, Delhi Capitals have experienced dramatic highs and lows, setting unique records. Though plagued with unwanted stats, Delhi has also produced inspirational performances, earning a passionate fan base.

In IPL 2022, Delhi skipper Rishabh Pant etched his name in record books with a sensational unbeaten 152 off just 58 balls against Rajasthan Royals. His innings, studded with 14 sixes and 19 fours, is the highest score by a left-handed Indian batter in tournament history. Pant’s brilliance powered Delhi to an imposing 222/2 – a total Rajasthan fell agonizingly short of chasing.

However, Delhi also holds the shameful record of the lowest total in an IPL home match. In 2017 against Mumbai Indians, Delhi capitulated to just 66 all out in 13 overs at the Feroz Shah Kotla. None of the Delhi batsmen reached double figures against a ruthless Mumbai pace attack.

Delhi’s drastic oscillation between the highs and lows is further exemplified through its unique record of finishing in every position on the IPL points table over the years. This includes topping the table in 2009 under Gautam Gambhir and 2021 under Rishabh Pant. But Delhi has also languished at the bottom in 2011, highlighting their inconsistency.

Beyond stats, Delhi’s eventful IPL journey has been defined by extraordinary talents like Virender Sehwag, AB de Villiers, Rishabh Pant, and Shreyas Iyer who became fan favorites. Through prudent auction picks like David Warner and Anrich Nortje, Delhi rebuilt energetically after seasons of disappointment.

While unwanted records reflect Delhi’s struggles for consistency, the team has displayed resilience in regrouping. With an enterprising captain in Pant, stability in the coaching staff, and a robust Indian core, Delhi Capitals remain an ever-threatening lineup. Despite the rocky road, their passion and never-say-die attitude in transforming adversity into opportunity has earned Delhi a growing fan base.

Latest Posts

West Indies Cricket Board apppoint three women to board of directors

By designating three women as independent directors to its...

Lancashire rope in Chris Green as Nathan Lyon’s replacement

Lancashire have announced the signing of Australian spinner Chris...

New Zealand veteran spinner Jack Alabaster passes away at 93

New Zealand's former leg spinner Jack Alabaster, considered one...

IPL 2024 RR vs GT Dream 11: Check probable 11, playing XI and more 

The unbeaten Rajasthan Royals will host the Gujarat Titans...