ICC World Cup 2023: New Zealand’s Squad, Match Schedule and More

Share This Post

The ICC World Cup 2023 schedule was recently unveiled, and cricket enthusiasts worldwide are gearing up for this highly anticipated event. The tournament is set to kick off on October 5, with the final showdown scheduled for November 19, both to be held in Ahmedabad. India has been entrusted with the honor of hosting the competition, marking their fourth time as co-hosts, with previous editions in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

Across the sprawling landscape of India, the tournament will unfold at ten venues, each hosting five games, except for Hyderabad, which will see action in three matches. The host cities include Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Pune, and Ahmedabad.

Turning our attention to New Zealand, the Kiwis have established themselves as formidable competitors on the global cricketing stage. However, they have yet to claim victory in the 50-over World Cup. Their closest brush with glory came in the 2019 edition when they reached the finals, only to be edged out by England in a thrilling encounter.

In preparation for the upcoming World Cup, New Zealand has faced some significant setbacks. Skipper Kane Williamson, a linchpin of their squad, sustained a knee injury during IPL 2022, ruling him out of both the IPL and the World Cup. Adding to their woes, key all-rounder Michael Bracewell suffered a ruptured Achilles injury while participating in the T20 Blast, rendering him unavailable for the next 6 to 8 months. Despite these challenges, the Kiwis remain a consistent force in World Cup events, often being labeled as the “dark horse” of ICC tournaments.

The tournament’s format will follow a round-robin structure, with all ten participating teams facing each other once in the league stage. The top four teams from this stage will advance to the semi-finals, culminating in a final showdown on November 19. Currently, eight teams have secured direct qualification, with two more slots to be filled through the Qualifiers.

New Zealand’s campaign in the ICC World Cup 2023 commences on October 5, where they will square off against England in the opening clash. Subsequently, they will engage in a series of encounters against each participating team in the league stage, with their final league match scheduled against Qualifier 2 on November 9.

New Zealand’s matches

Below, you’ll find the complete schedule for New Zealand’s journey in the tournament:

– October 5: England vs New Zealand, 1st Match at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad (2:00 PM IST)
– October 9: New Zealand vs Netherlands, 6th Match at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad (2:00 PM IST)
– October 13: New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 11th Match at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai (10:30 AM IST)
– October 18: New Zealand vs Afghanistan, 16th Match at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai (2:00 PM IST)
– October 22: India vs New Zealand, 21st Match at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala (2:00 PM IST)
– October 28: Australia vs New Zealand, 27th Match at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala (10:30 AM IST)
– November 1: New Zealand vs South Africa, 32nd Match at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune (2:00 PM IST)
– November 4: New Zealand vs Pakistan, 35th Match at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (10:30 AM IST)
– November 9: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 41st Match at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (2:00 PM IST)

Regarding New Zealand’s World Cup squad, while Kane Williamson is the only confirmed member so far, the team’s composition for the Bangladesh ODI series is expected to provide a glimpse of the World Cup squad.

Bangladesh ODI series squad

The players named for the Bangladesh ODI series include:

– Lockie Ferguson (Captain)
– Finn Allen
– Chad Bowes
– Will Young
– Tom Blundell
– Dean Foxcroft
– Henry Nicholls
– Rachin Ravindra
– Cole McConchie
– Dane Cleaver
– Kyle Jamieson
– Adam Milne
– Ish Sodhi
– Blair Tickner
– Trent Boult

Latest Posts

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Top three spin favouring venues

The 13th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup...

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Pakistan’s World Cup 2023 Squad and Schedule

The excitement for the ICC World Cup 2023 is...

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: England’s Squad, Schedule, and More

England is gearing up to defend their ICC World...

ICC World Cup 2023: Australia’s Squad, Schedule, and More

Australia is gearing up for the ICC World Cup...