CPL 2023: Understanding the new penalty System on slow over-rates

Share This Post

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) in its 2023 edition brought a groundbreaking change to the field – the implementation of red cards as a consequence of slow over-rates. These red cards have the potential to impact the course of a match and have already stirred debates among players, officials, and enthusiasts alike.

The red card system operates as follows:

  1. Behind Required Over Rate at the Start of the 18th Over: If a team is lagging behind the required over rate at the commencement of the 18th over, an additional player must enter the fielding circle, increasing the count to five players within the circle.
  2. Behind Required Over Rate at the Start of the 19th Over: Falling behind the rate at the beginning of the 19th over leads to a more significant consequence. Two extra fielders are compelled to enter the fielding circle, resulting in a total of six players inside the circle.
  3. Behind Required Over Rate at the Start of the Final Over: The most stringent penalty comes into play if a team is still behind the required over rate when entering the final over. In this case, the team is obliged to send off a player from the field, as chosen by the captain. Furthermore, six players must be placed inside the fielding circle.

The introduction of these penalties not only places the onus on the bowling team to maintain a suitable over rate but also extends responsibility to the batting side. In a bid to expedite the game and prevent time-wasting tactics, batting teams face consequences for delaying proceedings.

After receiving both a first and final warning from the umpires, the batting team is at risk of incurring a five-run penalty for each instance of time-wasting. This dual-sided approach aims to ensure that both bowling and batting teams actively contribute to maintaining an engaging pace throughout the match.

To uphold these new regulations, the CPL has taken inspiration from the 85-minutes-per-innings rule for T20 cricket. The rule stipulates specific time limits for completing overs within each inning. The 17th over must be concluded within 72 minutes and 15 seconds, the 18th over within 76 minutes and 30 seconds, and the 19th over within 80 minutes and 45 seconds. The ultimate over, the 20th over, must conclude within the overall time limit of 85 minutes.

As the cricketing world adjusts to this transformation, the introduction of red cards and time-bound penalties aims to reinvigorate the fast-paced essence of T20 cricket. While it sparks discussion and debate, there is no doubt that these measures are vital in preserving the thrilling spectacle that cricket fans around the globe hold dear. Time will tell how these changes shape the future of the sport, inspiring both players and fans to appreciate cricket in its most exhilarating form.

Latest Posts

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Top three spin favouring venues

The 13th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup...

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Pakistan’s World Cup 2023 Squad and Schedule

The excitement for the ICC World Cup 2023 is...

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: England’s Squad, Schedule, and More

England is gearing up to defend their ICC World...

ICC World Cup 2023: Australia’s Squad, Schedule, and More

Australia is gearing up for the ICC World Cup...